Skip to content

Jury edition 2024

The jury, made up of personalities from the world of art and culture, assists Viviane Esders in selecting the five nominated photographers, and among them, the winner. For this 3rd edition, here are the prestigious members who have agreed to join the jury:

Viviane Esders

Founder of the Prize and President of the Jury

© Thierry Samuel

Emma de Caunes, actress

In 1997, Sylvie Verheyde gave Emma de Caunes her first major role in the film Un frère. Her performance earned her the César for “Meilleur espoir féminin”. She also played a number of roles on stage, including Lucie in Diastème’s play La Nuit du thermomètre, for which she was nominated for a Molière award for “Révélation théâtrale féminine” in 2003. Emma de Caunes is also behind the camera as director of the Canal+ mini-series Neuf Meufs (2021) and Neufs Mecs (2022), which she co-wrote with Diastème. She is currently working on her next film.

© Mathilde de Galbert

Antoine de Galbert, contemporary art collector and patron

An atypical collector and patron of the arts, Antoine de Galbert created the Fondation Antoine de Galbert in 1999. In 2004, he inaugurated and presided over the Maison Rouge, a private foundation dedicated to contemporary art, which closed its doors for good in 2018. The Fondation Antoine de Galbert remains active and continues to help, promote and defend creation in the field of contemporary art.

© Augustin Rebetez

Marion Hilsen, support fund and workshop manager at ADAGP

Marion Hislen, a photography specialist with a Master’s degree in sociology, was the first Delegate for Photography at the French Ministry of Culture from 2019 to 2021. She has founded and directed the Circulation(s) festival since its creation in 2011, an event dedicated to promoting young European photography. At the same time, from 2011 to 2015, she directed cultural action in books and photography at Fnac, also overseeing their photographic collection. Marion Hislen has organized numerous exhibitions, notably at 104 as part of the Circulation(s) festival and for the Rencontres Photographiques du 10e. She is founder of the Collectif Fetart, founder of Photo Care, co-founder of Les Filles de la Photo and is currently in charge of the Fonds de soutien à l’ADAPG.

Luce Lebart, Historian of photography and curator

Luce Lebart is a photo historian and independent curator for the Archive of Modern Conflict collection. Recent exhibitions include Prendre le Soleil (Hangar Y 2023-2024); Will Write Soon. Postcards from the “New World” (Centre d’Art Gwinzegal, 2024); Natures vivantes. Images et imaginaires des jardins Albert Kahn (Musée Albert Kahn 2024), Sky Album (Fotografia Europea, 2024).

Jean-Hubert Martin, curator

Jean-Hubert Martin was director of the Kunsthalle Bern, the Musée d’art moderne Centre Pompidou, the Musée des arts d’Afrique et d’Océanie (Paris) and the Museum Kunst Palast (Düsseldorf). He built up the contemporary art collection at Château d’Oiron. His interest in non-Western cultures has led him to design open-ended exhibitions that bring together works of heterogeneous character, thus encouraging a fresh approach. He has curated numerous biennials and major exhibitions: Paris – Berlin (1978), Paris – Moscow (1979), Magiciens de la terre (1989), Carambolages (2016).

Nicolas Trèves, collector of contemporary art and photography

Nicolas Trèves, who holds a doctorate in computer science, spent a large part of his career as an Associate Professor at the Conservatoire National des Arts et Métiers. He is currently an expert before the Paris Court of Appeal and a consultant in IT. Born into a family of collectors and a collector of contemporary art, he is a member of several societies of Friends of Museums, notably the GAAC of the Centre Pompidou. He sits on the boards of the Amis de Beaux-Arts, Artais and the Amis du Palais de Tokyo. For the latter association, he was Treasurer for over 10 years.